cricket News

BCB includes Soumya Sarkar and Shoriful Islam in Bangladesh’s T20 World Cup squad

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) have updated their men’s squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022, scheduled to begin on October 16 in Australia.

Bangladesh have included Soumya Sarkar and Shoriful Islam to replace Mohammad Saifuddin and Sabbir Rahman in their 15-member squad. Sabbir and Saifuddin will return home from New Zealand, where the Bangladesh team recently played a tri-nation series along with the hosts and Pakistan.

“Left-handed batsman Soumya Sarkar and left-arm paceman Shoriful Islam, originally on the standby list, have been selected in the World Cup squad. They have replaced batsman Sabbir Rahman and all-rounder Saifuddin who had been named earlier in the 15-man team, which was announced on September 14,” said the BCB in a statement.

“Before the start of the Asia Cup, our consultant had a plan to fit a player in a specific position. For this reason, there was a plan to play Sabbir up in the order. The responsibility of a player is the most crucial thing. T20 is such a short game that you can’t take your eyes off it. You need to be conscious because overs finish so fast here. Self assessment is very important here,” said chief selector Minhajul Abedin.

Notably, Bangladesh will arrive in Brisbane on Saturday, where they will play two warm-up games against Afghanistan (October 17) and South Africa (October 19). The Tigers will start their T20 World Cup campaign against one of the first-round qualifiers in Hobart on October 24.

Bangladesh T20 World Cup squad (Updated):

Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Najmul Hossain Shanto, Soumya Sarkar, Litton Das, Afif Hossain, Yasir Ali, Mosaddek Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam, Nasum Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button