Cricket News

Steve Smith, Beth Mooney sweep top honours at the Cricket Australia Awards

The Australian Cricket Awards 2023 has been announced by Cricket Australia (CA) on Monday. Several players have been honoured under various categories.

Veteran Beth Mooney grasped her second Belinda Clark Award. Mooney, who also claimed the prize in 2021, polled 129 votes to outpace captain Meg Lanning (110 votes) and all-rounder Tahlia McGrath (95 votes).

Similarly, Usman Khawaja claimed the inaugural Shane Warne Award for the Test player of the year. Khawaja polled 22 votes to win ahead of Marnus Labuschagne (20) and Steve Smith (16). Khawaja also got the Community Impact Award.

Former Australia skipper Steve Smith got the highest individual honour for an Australian male cricketer after taking 171 votes to win his fourth Allan Border Medal. The New South Wales cricketer finished quite ahead of Travis Head (144 votes) and David Warner (141).

When it comes to the ODI format, David Warner received the Men’s ODI cricketer of the year, while Mooney was honoured with the Women’s ODI player of the year.

All-rounder Marcus Stoinis was crowned Australia’s Men’s T20I player of the year, and Tahlia McGrath received the same under the Women’s category. Michael Neser and Annabel Sutherland were named as domestic players of the year. Similarly, Lance Morris and Courtney Sippel were announced as the Don Bradman and Belly Wilson young cricketers of the year.

Matt Short from Adelaide Strikers was named BBL|12 Player of the Tournament. Similarly, Ashleigh Gardner from Sydney Sixers received the WBBL|08 Player of the Tournament award. Further, Ian Redpath and Margaret Jennings were inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame.

Complete list of award winners:

  • Belinda Clark Award – Beth Mooney
  • Allan Border Medal – Steve Smith
  • Shane Warne Men’s Test Player of the Year – Usman Khawaja
  • Female ODI Player of the Year – Beth Mooney
  • Female T20I Player of the Year – Tahlia McGrath
  • Male ODI Player of the Year – David Warner
  • Male T20I Player of the Year – Marcus Stoinis
  • Female Domestic Player of the Year – Annabel Sutherland
  • Male Domestic Player of the Year – Michael Neser
  • Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year – Courtney Sippel
  • Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year – Lance Morris
  • Community Impact Award – Usman Khawaja
  • Australian Cricket Hall of Fame inductees – Ian Redpath and Margaret Jennings
  • BBL|12 Player of the Tournament: Matt Short (Adelaide Strikers)
  • WBBL|08 Player of the Tournament: Ashleigh Gardner (Sydney Sixers)

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button